Dishonored – The Veiled Terror Review

Buy Now at Titan Books

Spoilers below for Dishonored books and game franchise

Dishonored: The Veiled Terror is a new novel by Titan Books set in the Dishonored world and franchise. The book follows the story from the last game Dishonored: Death of the Outsider. In that game, Billie Lurk seeks to remove the Outsider from the world. The one-shot game has paved for Titan Books to release The Veiled Terror, featuring the aftermath of her successful mission.

About the Veiled Terror


One thing to note about The Veiled Terror, is that it happens after Dishonored: Death of the Outsider. Billie Lurk has the option of either killing or freeing the Outsider from the Void. What she doesn’t know is her choices leave the Void without someone to keep it in check. No matter what your decision is in the game, it can lead directly into Dishonored: The Veiled Terror. The book’s most interesting detail from the game is now the Void is unbalanced, and Billie must fix it.

As rifts begin appearing around the Empire, Billie travels to Tivia and Morley, trying to find out why. There are some amazing throwbacks such as a flashback to a young Granny Rags (from the original Dishonored game). One thing we learn is her real name is Vera Moray. These new locations in the Empire of Isles are descriptive beautifully by Billie, giving more detail in the universe of the game. The thing to note is while some questions are answered from Death of the Outsider, more just keep popping up.

Without spoiling the plot of the story and the newest addition in the franchise, I can say it fits well within the Dishonored universe. While I am personally accustomed to seeing the games, the books are a great addition to the growing franchise. Dishonored as a game series left many unanswered questions, and the books are slowly answering them at a comfortable pace.

The Dishonored Book Series

Titan Books has been exclusively publishing the Dishonored book series, and you can get your copies directly from a local retailer. Below are the books in order, and where they appear in the universe.

  1. Dishonored: The Corroded Man – Bridges the gap between Dishonored and Dishonored 2, centering around Emily Kaldwin
  2. Dishonored: The Return of Daud – Set during Delilah Copperspoon’s coup in Dishonored 2
  3. Dishonored: The Veiled Terror – Set after Dishonored: The Death of the Outsider after Dishonored 2


  • Good throwback to characters
  • Interesting lore and development
  • Great connection to game series and novels


  • Can be a slow read, but worth it
  • Requires prior game and novel knowledge


Story - 10
Character Development - 8.7
Action and Detail - 7
Connection to Game Series - 10
Connection to Prior Novels - 10
Length of Book - 8.5
An avid gamer, journalist, literary reviewer, and lover of all things Marvel; wrapped in a colorful hair-do.
Average User Rating Write A Review 0 User Reviews
1 vote
Your Rating